skip navigation

Ruddy Leads Breck-Wahp at Section 6A Cross Country Meet

By Craig Olson, 10/13/20, 10:00PM CDT


Aidan Ruddy highlighted the Breckenridge-Wahpeton boys’ cross country teams as they concluded their season on a windy Tuesday afternoon at Long Prairie in the Section 6A meet.   

“The course and wind proved challenging to the runners so times were not as fast as the past couple races, but the team finish 12th of 24 scoring teams,” reported Head Coach Larry Lasch.  “In the 166 runner field, junior Aiden Ruddy placed 14th overall in a time of 18:04.   There will not be a state meet this year due to the corona pandemic, but Aiden’s place would have been a state qualifier if a state meet were to take place.   Aidan is the 3rd boy to qualify for the state meet since Breckenridge and Wahpeton merged six years ago.  I am so happy for Aiden.  Last year he placed 30th in the 6A meet, and it’s been his goal since that day to qualify this year.   He showed steady improvement over the season and made a statement that he is top quality runner.”   

Junior Perez was the next runner for the BW team placing 45th, 19:16, and Luke Baumgardner placed 61st, in 19:42.  Logan Mammenga, Deven Demet, Bryce Awender, and Gus Lasch rounded out the place winners in 105th, 118th, 131st, and 134th, respectively.  Shea Truesdel and Jonathan Hill trained and travelled with team as alternates.   

“The boys will lose four valuable seniors this year,” said Coach Lasch.  “It was the final race for Gus Lasch, who has run cross country for six years.  Gus emerged as leader this year.  He is a positive influence on the team and always gave 100% at practice and at the races.  His cool and calm approach to running will be missed. Logan Mammenga joined the team his freshman year and made a solid impact this year.  Each year he improved and was a top runner on the team this year.  Amongst his teammate he carries a quiet demeanor, but he was always quick to help a struggling teammate or offer a word of encouragement.   Junior Perez joined the team last year and ran XC for two years.   Junior made an instant impact on the team last year and continued his solid running this year.  Junior kept the team at ease with his positive and upbeat attitude. He embraced the challenges of cross country running.  Shea Truedel joined his senior year.  Being the track team’s top sprinter, Shea took a huge leap out of his comfort zone to join cross country.   He embraced the philosophy that “I can pull from the front or push from the back,” and became a key runner on the team. All four of these boys made huge impact on the 19 underclassmen on the team.   The example they set will be their legacy to BW Cross Country.” 

Staples-Motley won the team title with 38 points, two in front of West Central Area (40).  New London-Spicer was a distant third with 132.  They were followed by Litchfield (209), Holdingford (226), Ashby-Brandon-Evansville (236), Ottertail Central (256), Parkers Prairie (266), Minnewaska Area (318), Bertha-Hewitt (336), Osakis (340) and Breckenridge/Wahpeton (341).  Sauk Centre (346) was thirteenth, then Melrose (350), Benson/KMS (356), Royalton (361), Eden Valley-Watkins/Kimball (374), Albany (405), Border West (441), St. John’s Prep (470), Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta (521), Pierz (635), Long Prairie-Grey Eagle (664) and Pillager (757).

Here are the individual results by team:
1. Emmet Anderson 15:51.1, 5. Issiah Tabatt 16:59.4, 9. Lyle Brownell 17:32.0, 10, Logan Robben 17:33.3, 13. Luke Brownell 18:00.3, 18. Tanner Robben 18:15.7, 19. Grant Johnson 18:22.4

West Central Area
2. Kade Runge 16:55.4, 3. Kyle Schill 16:56.7, 8. Alex Salwasser 17:07.8, 11. Shad Swanson 17:44.9, 16. Reubens Swanson 18:11.6, 32. Peyton Hanson 18:52.1, 40. Roman Mihailovschi 19:08.4

24. Hunter Norby 18:33.2, 42. Wesley Siira 19:14.0, 49. Micah Fossell 19:20.4, 52. Jaydon Hoidahl 19:27.9, Matson Hoff 19:55.3, 80. Logan Froemming 20:08.2, 98. Jacob Cook 20:30.7

Ottertail Central
29. Isaac Scherfenberg 18:44.6, 39. Blake Alonzo 19:05.5, 60. Kale Misegades 19:38.7, 63. Peter Newark 19:45.0, 65. Nick Carter 19:51.2, 86. Isaac Hallberg 20:16.5, 97. Noah Mansker 20:30.3

14. Aidan Ruddy 18:04.5, 45. Francisco Perez 19:16.3, 61. Luke Baumgardner 19:42.9, 105. Logan Mamenga 20:41.0, 118. Deven Demert 21:05.0, 131. Bryce Awender 21:29.7, 134. Gus Lasch 21:37.3

Parkers Prairie
6. Johnathan Suchy 17:03.5, 12. James Suchy 17:54.7, 72. Cole Steele 19:56.7, 83. Jason Koehn 20:09.1, 95. Justin Koehn 20:29.7, 150. Isaac Grabow 22:32.7

22. Brady Rach 18:28.5, 56. Chris Blashack 19:30.3, 77. Preston Miller 20:03.9, 91. Aden Rach 20:21.2, 93. Zach Baumgartner 20:23.8, 94.IsaacBlashack 20:27.8, 152. Ryan Knoll 22:40.2

Border West
23. Joe Arens 18:32.1, 51. Derek Lupkes 19:24.1, 110. Cole Sykora 20:45.4, 128. Conner Goodhart 21:28.8, 132. Eli Larson 21:36.7, 137. Andrew Stueve 21:46.0, 142. Jens Jorgenson 22:02.9

135. Jacob Hooge 21:39.2, 151. Gunnar Casuse 22:39.1, 158. Gabe Grimsley 23:43.4, 160. Micah Moyer 24:08.5, 162. Brenden Brichacek 25:10.1, 166. Jayde Jordahl 26:18.6

69. Noah Brumfield 19:54.6, 149. Rye Frobish 22:23.8, 164. Simon Carlson 26:06.8

The girls run their 6A meet on Thursday at the Little Crow Golf Course on Thursday.